Recently I did something unusual and made a Facebook post about a super-huge project in ISKCON. One of the responses was basically, “Why do you care?”

The lady who made that comment is right, I shouldn’t care. In fact most of the time, maybe even “99%” of the time, I don’t. Why not? Because it has nothing to do with me.

On the other hand, sometimes I do care what ISKCON is doing. Why? Because it does have something to do with me.

The nature of ātmā is to, naturally, always care about itself. This is the inherent nature of being an individual entity. The enlightened ātmā cares primarily about paramātmā, the super-self. We care about things that are related to us. That’s why most of the time I don’t care what’s going on or off in ISKCON, because it doesn’t have all that much to do with me. But sometimes I do care, because, like it or not, ISKCON does have something to do with who I am.

I care a little bit about what goes down on my block, because I live here. I care about stuff that happens to human beings in nepal etc, because I’m a human being too. Etc. So I care about what goes on in ISKCON because ISKCON is a society of people into Krishna, and I am a person who is into Krishna.

I hope that explains why I care a little bit, and sometimes voice my opinion about ISKCON things – but usually don’t care much and keep to my own studies and practices.

Hare Krishna.

One thought on “Why Should I Care?

  1. In 2008, a few people inside and outside ISKCON cared enough about the TOVP project to raise serious concerns about it in public.

    On Dandavats we published three long articles; Ambarisa Prabhu, Hari Sauri Prabhu, Sivarama Swami, and Giriraja Swami all wrote responses, which did not address our concerns. Supporters and detractors added many comments.

    In April 2014, I put on my blog a defense of the TOVP written by the scholar we had consulted during our published discussions.

    This (and links to our three earlier articles) can be found here:

    –ys,
    Tattvavit Dasa

    Like

Do You have a Comment or Questions?

