After Nārada had spoken, Dhruva showed his respect and gratitude by circumambulating him before departing to Madhuvana, the sacred place decorated with Hari’s footprints.


Comment: Krishna had not yet appeared in Madhuvana at this point in history, so how could Madhuvana bear his footprints? VCT explains that Vṛndāvana is eternal and not destroyed at dissolution or created on Brahmā’s awakening. Therefore the footprints from Krishna’s avatāra in the previous mahā-kalpa persisted.


After Nārada had spoken, Dhruva showed his respect and gratitude by circumambulating him before departing to Madhuvana, the sacred place decorated with Hari’s footprints.

Nārada went into Uttānapāda’s palace, where the king greeted him respectfully and seated him comfortably. “King,” Nārada said, “Why the long face? Are you thinking about something sad? Have you lost your happiness, along with your wealth and morality?”

“Oh wise man,” The king said, “Because of my wife, I have been cruel to my little boy. I allowed him to run away from home even though he is only five years old, and I neglected his mother who is a great and learned person. He is in the forest, with no one to protect him. I am worried that the wolves might devour that helpless little boy. I am worried that his lotus face must have withered and become emaciated from hunger. Aho, all this is just because of my vile cruelty towards him, instigated by the manipulation of that woman. I am the worst father. My boy loved me and wanted to climb into my lap, but I shunned him!”

“Don’t worry. Don’t worry,” Nārada consoled. “Your son is in the divine care of the world’s protector. His majesty, currently unknown, will soon become famous throughout the world. That prabhu will perform deeds difficult even for the masters of the world. He will return soon, King, and your family’s fame will overflow.”

When the king heard Nārada’s words, he lost all interest in royal opulence (including the goddess-like queen Suruci), and cared only about his son.

Śrīmad Bhāgavatam 4.8.62~70

Vraja Kishor dās

VrajaKishor.com

Do You have a Comment or Questions?

