Fire Gods (Prasūti’s Grandchildren Through Svāhā)

Svāhā and Agni produced three children from their pride. They named the boys Pāvaka, Pavamāna, and Śuci and gave them the task of consuming the offerings sacrificed into fire.

Svāhā (“Self-Sacrifice”) represents the sacrificial offering. Her marriage to Agni (“Fire”) represents an offering given to fire. Their three children represent what fire proudly does to any offering given to it: Fire is bright and pure (pāvaka), so it purifies anything it touches (pavamāna), destroying the impurities and leaving only the pure, energetic essence – a brilliantly clean entity (śuci).

These three boys fathered forty-five other forms of fire. Thus, including their three fathers and their grandfather, there are forty-nine types of fire. When spiritualists put offerings into fire during a fruitive Vedic sacrifice, they utilize these sacred fires by invoking their names.

Categories: Tags: , , , ,

Do You have a Comment or Questions?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s