Winter

It’s not that I actually like winter. Winter is essential. That’s what I’m saying.

I lived for 13 years without a winter. You know what happened. I started to hate summer. That is ridiculous. It is rediculous to lothe warm, sunny weather. But that is exactly what happened when I went 13 years without a winter.

I am a little more than halfway through my first winter in 13 years, now. And you know what, I am enjoying it. No, I don’t like being cold, staying inside, etc. But I love the perspective it is giving me on the spring that is approaching. As a result of this winter I am going to love spring, summer and fall more than ever!

And there is also stuff about winter that I am going to miss when it’s gone. It snowed once or twice so far, and that is just beautiful. One of the most beautiful things in nature; right up there with waterfalls, butterflies, flowers, and rainbows. I also love being warm under a blanket with cold air on my nose. I don’t mind it getting dark early – makes me feel like I am partying till mid morning when it’s still just 11pm. I like the chance to wear tons of layers of clothes. I love seeing some flowers still bloom. I love mochi.

Winter is winter, even if you hate it, you need it. Well, maybe you don’t but I do. Maybe I don’t need it, but I like it. I like it because it provides a natural rhythm to my world, and a balance. That is really what I will end with, the rhythm and clockwork that winter sets up for me, psychologically. It shows me how time will pass quickly, and I should treasure every moment. The most horrible thing in the world is to say “I can’t wait” for something in the future (and to really mean it). Watch the movie Click with Adam Sandler. It will explain everything. Winter is helping me really enjoy the present.

Categories:

2 Comments

  1. Dude, I’ve been saying this for years. Ohio winters are not very enjoyable, but I believe that seasons are an excellent way to remind us of the earth we walk on and of the cycles of our own lives.

    Like

  2. “The most horrible thing in the world is to say “I can’t wait” for something in the future (and to really mean it).”

    Thank you for putting so much into perspective with that thought. You are so right!

    Like

Do You have a Comment or Questions?

