The Secret to Living

The Moment

I think I discovered, or stumbled on, the secret to living. Actually its no big deal, because the big deal isn’t knowing the secret, but living it. But anyway… the secret to living IS… to appreciate what you are doing when you are doing it.

I spend so much time wondering what else I am going to be doing. I think we all do. We forget to notice what we are doing right now.

I think this goes a long way towards diminishing the mode of passion in our psyche. There are three modes that we operate in: passion, lethargy, or clarity. Clarity has the most simple and enduring happiness in it, of the three. Things like being aware of the value of the current moment are characteristic of that mode.

Categories:

1 Comment

  1. This is the way I try to live my life. I try to live in the present moment as much as I can. Obviously, some thought of the future is necessary. I came home from work today and drank a glass of water. I closed my eyes and just focused on drinking the water. It was so much more enjoyable. I go outside and just live in the moment. I can see so much more detail. Flowers, blades of grass moving in the wind. I spent my 20s wishing I appreciated my childhood and teenage years more. I didn’t realize then that I was wasting my 20s longing for my teens. Now, in my 30s, I feel like I have the right perspective. Living in the moment with my godson or whatever I’m doing and not getting distracted.

    Like

Do You have a Comment or Questions?

